Countdown No More

Having a chest infection and being home-bound this glorious bank holiday weekend has got me thinking… as you do when your stuck at home with crappy tv. “What were you thinking about?” I hear you ask.

Well, it was the fact that I spend most of my life counting down the days to various events. And I’m not talking about something exciting like a trip abroad or a hot date because seriously my life is all work and no play. I mean the countdown to the weekend, the countdown to payday and the one for all us education professionals… the countdown to the next half term/end of term.

I’ve already counted down the days to the next half term (18 work days) and the number of weeks to the summer holiday (12). It got me thinking; I am so consumed with looking forward to the next big thing that everyday life is flying by me. I’m not consciously enjoying the little things that happen day to day.

As a result, I have decided to go on a 30 days of happiness quest and really cherish the things that I have and do everyday. I did 100 days of happiness last year with two of my friends so this should be a walk in the park.

Day 1 starts tomorrow, right now I will just be content that one day soon I will be able to breathe through both nostrils again..x

Leave a Reply

