New Ventures

I’m currently enjoying my second week off from work (perks of being a teacher in training) so I’ve had time to reflect and think about my life.

Almost four weeks ago, I received a message from a high school friend on Facebook. We had a mutual friend, a woman that I work with and my high school friend was intrigued to see how we knew each other. From there, we started talking about our lives and what we had been doing since leaving school (when we had lost contact). She mentioned she had started a new business working from home, and always the eager beaver, I asked her about it. Fast-forward three weeks and I have joined the company and purchased my starter box!

I’ve been mixed with excitement and nervousness about this new venture. I can see all the positive sides of having this business and selling good products to friends, family and the wider public. However, my shyness and fear of failure is holding me back. I’m taking some of the products to my mum’s workplace tomorrow but the thought of having to talk to people about it fills me with dread. In a few weeks time, I will be holding a product launch at home and since arranging it the “what ifs” have been non-stop:

 

‘What if no one turns up?’

 

‘What if no one buys anything?’

 

‘What if people don’t like my house?’

 

‘What if I don’t know what to say?’

 

The thoughts go on…and on…and on…

 

Reflecting, I’ve realised that this mindset has stopped me doing a lot of things in my life; Wearing a certain dress, dyeing my hair a different colour, organising big get-togethers. Over the next couple of months I am going to focus on being more positive and working hard to make this business work.

 

I’ll keep you updated.. x

Leave a Reply

